Skip to main content

Driver Education

Are you ready to hit the road as a confident, safe driver?

Two female high school students in a JCCC Driver Education car

JCCC's program consists of an 8-hour face-to-face classroom course, plus 4 to 6 behind-the-wheel driving lessons. The classroom portion includes presentation of content, discussions, activities and videos over the basic principles of car control, turns, parking, the driver's physical and psychological factors in driving, and Kansas driving laws.

Students will schedule their 4-6 behind-the-wheel lessons on the day they attend the classroom course. Lessons typically begin within 1 to 2 days following the course. Normally the behind-the-wheel lessons are completed within 4-6 weeks.

Driving lessons are competency-based and include:

  • Residential Driving: Left/right turns, controlled/uncontrolled intersections, U-turns, backing
  • City Driving: Turning from left lane/right lane, lane changes, following distance, traffic lights, roundabouts, etc.
  • Highway/Expressway: Entering/exiting a highway, driving on the highway
  • Parking/Turnabouts: Angle parking, perpendicular parking, two- and three-point turns

View Course Schedules & Register

The JCCC Advantage

  • Students will have the same state-certified instructor for all classroom and behind-the-wheel training.
  • New sessions start every few weeks. No drive-time wait lists! Most students complete the classroom and behind-the-wheel training in under six weeks.
  • JCCC is the only institution in the state of Kansas that trains and certifies driver education instructors. Have your children learn from the experts.
  • JCCC offers driver training beyond just driver education. Check out our defensive driving classes.

What you need to know

  • Students must be at least 14 years old. It is recommended that a student have an instructional permit prior to class, but it is NOT necessary.
  • We recommend that students experience behind-the-wheel driving with a parent/adult prior to the first driving lesson. Students should be able to start and stop a vehicle and make left- and right-hand turns in a residential setting.
  • For more information, see our frequently asked questions.

Why should my student take a driver education course?

The primary benefits of participating in a driver education program include:

  • Instruction over the law manual, emergency situations, vehicle maintenance, vehicle controls, planning a trip, operating a vehicle on the roadways, parking, how to obtain a license or permit and the responsibilities of owning a vehicle.
  • 4 to 6 lessons behind-the-wheel with a certified instructor based on student's ability to pass the competencies for each lesson. 
  • Some insurance companies give a discount to students/families that have completed a driver education program.
  • In order to apply for and receive a Restricted Permit at age 15, the student must have successfully completed and passed a driver education program (classroom and drive time).