Faculty Senate

The Faculty Senate is a comprehensive body representing all areas and divisions of the college, including adjunct and full-time faculty.

The faculty has the primary responsibility for maintaining standards of excellence in education, both at JCCC and in higher education as a whole. It is the Senate’s responsibility to speak for the faculty in matters of educational policy, preservation of academic integrity, protection of academic freedom and the prioritization of resources.

The Senate maintains that high quality education and student success depend on faculty engagement beyond basic teaching duties, and those goals depend on faculty members’ involvement in decisions that affect instruction. The Senate takes seriously its commitment to shared governance with staff, administration, trustees and the community. To achieve this mission, the Senate accepts responsibility for representing the faculty on decisions affecting the college as a whole.

The Senate recognizes the unique knowledge and expertise that faculty members hold in their respective disciplines and in their daily interactions with students.  Consequently, it acts as a resource through which that knowledge and expertise can be made available to students, staff, administrators and trustees in making well-informed decisions.

Faculty Senate Membership 2016-17

Faculty Senate Officers

President – Patrick Lafferty
Vice President – Lorie Paldino
Secretary – Peggy Barlett 
At-Large – Irene Schmidt
At-Large – Kay King

Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences
Vin Clark (8/14-5/17)
Doug Harvey (8/15-5/18)

Cherie Leiker (8/14-5/17)
Sharon Lundeen (8/15-5/18)
Connie Farmer (Alternate)
Samira Hussein (Alternate) 

Janette Funaro (8/15-5/18)
Leanna Graham (8/16-5/17)
Tatiana Scanlan (Alternate, 8/16-5/17) 

Computer Science and Information Technology
Deborah Kitchin (8/16-5/17)
Tom Renfro (8/16-5-18) 

Lorie Paldino (8/14-5/17)
TBD (8/15-5/18)
Amy Pace (Alternate)
Shaun Harris (Alternate) 

Peggy Barlett (8/15-5/18)
Maggie Curry-Chiu (8/16-5/17)
David Luoma (Alternate)
Joe Weis (Alternate) 

Chris Imm (8/14-5/17)
Traci Putnam (8/15-5/18)
Rob Grondahl (Alternate)

Steve Giambrone (8/14-5/17)
Paul Decelles (8/15-5/18)
Luanne Wolfgram (Alternate) 

Howard Hendren (8/14-5/17)
Dan Eberle (8/16-5/18)
Scott Gilmore (Alternate) 

Omar Conrad (12/16-5/17)
Kay King (8/15-5/18)
Patrick Lafferty (8/15-5/18)
Bill McFarlane (8/16-5/17)
Matthew Schmeer (8/15-5/18)
Irene Schmidt (8/15-5/18) 

Amy Fisher (8/14-5/17)
Judi Guzzy (8/15-5/18)
Casey Buchanan (Alternate) 

Faculty Association
Dennis Arjo 

Educational Affairs
Mark Van Gorp

For more information visit the JCCC Faculty Senate blog.

Faculty Senate Blog